The board

See Governance for membership of board subcommittees and director responsibilities.

Chairman (Independent Non-Executive)

Sir Richard Lambert
Sir Richard Lambert joined the Bloomsbury Board as an Independent Non-Executive Director in July 2017. He was appointed as Chairman of the Board, Chair of the Nomination Committee and a member of the Remuneration Committee on joining. Sir Richard is Chairman of the British Museum. He is also a Member of Council for Chatham House, the Royal Institute of International Affairs. Sir Richard joined the Financial Times after reading history at Balliol College, Oxford. He was editor of the Lex column, became New York bureau chief, and thereafter deputy editor. He was Editor of the Financial Times from 1991 to 2001. He has served as a member of the Bank of England Monetary Policy Committee from 2003 to 2006, Director General of the CBI from 2006 to 2011, interim Chairman of The Banking Standards Review Council from 2013 to 2014, Chancellor of the University of Warwick from 2008 to 2016 and the senior independent member of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office's Supervisory Board from 2012 to 2017.

Executive Directors

Nigel Newton was born and raised in San Francisco. He read English at Cambridge. After working at Macmillan Publishers, he joined Sidgwick & Jackson. He left Sidgwick in 1986 to start Bloomsbury. Bloomsbury floated on The London Stock Exchange in 1994 and has grown organically and through acquisitions and partnerships. Bloomsbury publishes 2,500 books a year from its offices in the UK, US, India and Australia.

Nigel Newton serves as President of Book Aid International, member of the Man Booker Prize Advisory Committee and Trustee of the International Institute for Strategic Studies. He is Chairman Emeritus of the Charleston Trust, past Chair of World Book Day (2006), past member of the Publishers Association Council and Member of the Advisory Committee of Cambridge University Library.
Wendy Pallot
Wendy Pallot is a Chartered Accountant who qualified with Coopers & Lybrand. She was Group Finance Director for GCap Media Plc, the UK's leading commercial radio operator which was listed on the UK main market, from 2005 until its sale in 2008. She was Group Finance Director of GWR Group plc, a leading UK listed radio operator, from 2001 until its merger with Capital Radio plc in 2005 to form GCap Media Plc. Wendy Pallot is the chair and one of the co-founding directors of a company operating a number of local radio stations. She is also a Governor of the Central School of Ballet.
Richard Charkin
Richard Charkin joined the Bloomsbury Board as an Executive Director in October 2007. He began his career in 1972 as Science Editor of Harrap & Co. He has since held senior roles at Pergamon Press, Oxford University Press, Reed International/Reed Elsevier, Current Science Group and has been Chief Executive of Macmillan Publishers Limited and Executive Director of Verlagsgruppe Georg von Holtzbrinck. His other publishing interests include being a Non- Executive Director of the Institute of Physics Publishing, Non-executive Director of Liverpool University Press, Visiting Professor at the University of the Arts London, and Honorary Senior Research Fellopw at University College London. He is Chairman of the Common Purpose Charitable Trust and is a member of the Advisory Board of the Frankfurt Book Fair. He was President of the UK Publishers Association (and remains on its Council) and the International Publishers Association and a Non-Executive Director of Melbourne University Publishing. He studied Natural Sciences at Trinity College Cambridge, was a Supernumerary Fellow of Green College, Oxford; and attended the Advanced Management Program at the Harvard Business School.
J Glasspool
Jonathan Glasspool was appointed to the Bloomsbury Board in July 2015. He joined Bloomsbury in 1999 and is Managing Director of Bloomsbury's Academic & Professional publishing division. Jonathan is Chair of the Industry Advisory Board at Oxford Brookes University, a Trustee of Publishing Training Centre, a member of the Commercial Board of the ICAEW, a member of the Academic & Professional Board of the Publisher's Association, Chair of Federation of British Artists and Governor of Bath Spa University. He has held roles in publishing with Reed Elsevier in the UK and Asia, the Chartered Management Institute, and Cambridge University Press. Jonathan has a first class degree in English from Trinity College, Oxford, an MA in English from Bristol University and an MBA with Distinction from Warwick Business School.

Independent Non-Executive Directors

John Warren
John Warren joined the Bloomsbury Board in July 2015 and is the Senior Independent Director, the Chair of the Audit Committee and the member with recent and relevant financial experience. He is a Chartered Accountant (FCA) and has a wealth of Non-executive and Audit Committee Chairmanship experience with companies including Rexam Plc, Spectris plc, Welsh Water, Greencore Group plc, 4imprint Group plc and Bovis Homes Group PLC. As an executive director he was Group Finance Director of WH Smith PLC and before that United Biscuits (Holdings) Plc.
Jill Jones
Jill Jones joined the Bloomsbury Board in July 2013 and is the Chair of the Remuneration Committee. She was Managing Director of McGraw-Hill Education, Europe, Middle East and Africa, until 2016 and from 2008 until 2012 she was President and CEO (EMEA) of Cengage Learning EMEA, a leading digital information and print services global provider for teaching, learning and research solutions. Before this, she held positions in Pearson Education, Thomson Learning, Longman and Prentice Hall. Jill has worked in Higher Education and Schools textbook and revision publishing, English Language Teaching and reference publishing including the development of large electronic and primary source material databases. She is a former Council Member of the Publishers Association and former Chair of the Academic Publishers group at the Publishers Association. Jill holds a BA Hons First class (Geography) from University College London, and a Post Graduate Certificate in e-business from the University of British Columbia, Canada.
Steven Hall
Steven Hall joined the Bloomsbury Board in March 2017. He is managing director of IOP Publishing, a leading publisher of scientific books, journals and web sites and has worked in academic publishing for almost forty years. He has extensive experience of digital publishing and has led the development of pioneering online content databases. He is a member of the Academic, Professional and Learning Publishers Council of the UK Publishers Association and regularly represents the publishing industry to government and policy-makers in the UK and overseas. He served for six years on the board of the International Association of STM Publishers, in his final year as chair, and was one of three publisher members of the UK's 'Finch' group.

Group Company Secretary

Michael Daykin
Michael Daykin joined in February 2011 as Group Company Secretary for Bloomsbury Publishing Plc and its subsidiary companies. He has held senior roles in UK Main Market listed companies and was previously Group Company Secretary of Datamonitor Plc and of BPP Holdings Plc prior to their takeovers. He is a graduate Chartered Company Secretary (Fellow of the ICSA) and Chartered Accountant (Fellow of the ICAEW).

back to top